I hope winter weather ends really soon

That’s because my plants are really growing quickly, especially the peppers. I wasn’t expecting that.

I didn’t conduct this as a scientific experiment with a control set of plants along with my experimental system. All I can say is that germinating them in damp paper towels until the tap root forms, and then planting them in small plastic cups that are lined inside with 1/2 of a sturdy paper towel and with openings cut into the cups to prevent them from becoming root bound, is paying off. I’m not sure the slits cut into the cups is necessary, since commercial grow bags (which prevents root binding)  don’t have this feature.

To feed them, in a 32 oz bottle I add a heaping 1/8 tsp miracle grow, about 1/16 tsp epsom salt, and about 5-10 drops of diluted 2:1 dissolved calcium from egg shells dissolved in plain vinegar. I use plain water one day, and the fertilized water the next.

These plants are at the point where I could put them outside into 5 gallon buckets right now. I suppose I could clone with cuttings if they get too tall.

Posted on February 27, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I didn’t say anything, but I thought you were starting a little early…

    I start my stuff indoors the first week of April, sometimes the last week of March. I’ve had stuff in the ground as early as Mother’s Day, but usually more like Memorial Day. Sometimes May is so shitty in this part of IL, it’s early June before I can get stuff in.

    Using your grow box idea, my stuff should be bigger and more mature than it ever has been when it goes outside. The good news is, in a few more weeks, I can start planting Romaine and spinach directly in the ground for the next few months. I also think I’m going to plant Onions, from seed, along the perimeter this year. I only did it once, but it really does keep pests out, mammalian and insect. I can do that at the end of March, as well.

    Like

    • I didn’t know onions kept the pests away. The good thing about planting in containers is that it keeps the pests down. But I also grow zucchini in a raised bed (of sorts) , and always get swarmed by beetles. Sevin kills them D_E_D dead, but I’d rather not even have to use it,.

      I tried growing onions once, but I didn’t really take car of them like I should,

      THe peppers I have, one already has a forked stem and I think its trying to set blooms, I can prune that off below the fork. I planned on doing that anyway with all peppers.

      Like

  2. “I didn’t know onions kept the pests away.”

    Garlic, too.

    “I tried growing onions once, but I didn’t really take car of them like I should”

    Yeah, they definitely need to be mulched, or you’re constantly watering. If you can keep the soil moist 24-7, you’re rewarded handsomely, though, with nice, big, juicy onions.

    Like

Leave a Reply

