Picture update on the system I use

Click to enlarge

Click to enlarge

That pic is the bucket that contains the float valve. The waterlines branch out from this bucket to all other buckets. I removed the lid to show the inside. The valve sets the water level of all the buckets that are hooked up to it, if they set on a level surface.

I used some 2×4 precuts to make them level by building a rack. It’s easier than leveling the ground.

There is some algae backing up into the bucket. We have had a lot of rain lately, and the overflow from the planted buckets flows back into this supply bucket thru 1/4″ clear hose and flows out thru a hole drilled into this bucket just above the waterline. This hose is where the algae is coming from, since light penetrates the hose. If I used black hose, this wouldn’t be a problem because algae requires sunlight to grow.

Click to enlarge

Click to enlarge

Here is the system. I used heavy duty trash bags underneath in order to control weeds.

The empty buckets were zucchini, after vine borers got to them. I replanted and hope to get something out of them.

I also disconnected the pepper plants, because they were getting too much water. I’ll water them by hand from now on.

Click to enlarge

Click to enlarge

I like this system. I get good growth and don’t have to worry about watering the containers. Tomatoes use a lot of water, and you don’t want them to go without, even for a short period of time. When I used just the buckets last year, I’d have to water them at least 3 times a day, and even that wasn’t enough to keep them properly watered.

Click to enlarge

Click to enlarge

Peppers.

Click to enlarge

Click to enlarge

Tomatoes.

Posted on July 4, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

